The Automatic Detective, by A. Lee Martinez

Automatic_Detective_coverThe Automatic Detective, by A. Lee Martinez, is part Isaac Asimov’s R. Daneel Olivaw, part Iron Giant, part Raymond Chandler’s Philip Marlowe, part mutant-alien invasion, and part tongue-in-cheek blast of fun.

.
To say much more would either confuse or spoil plot-points, but I will point out that the action is narrated by a powerful but not quite indestructible robot and includes many characters, including an evil scientist, a kidnapped family, a beautiful blonde who also happens to be a rich genius, a talking gorilla who is a cab driver, countless mutants, aliens, and more…

.
A good summer escape; some of the subtle, and not-so-subtle, humour educed chuckles while I read.

.
This is the first novel I’ve read by this author (his covers have, until now, scared me off); it’s not a deep-book, but I enjoyed it more than I thought I would.

.

.

.

Leave a Reply

